Race Coming Up! Colorado (Ralston Creek Half Mararthon)

I am currently registered for the Ralston Creek Half Marathon in Arvada, Colorado on February 12.  I am fitting this into my training plan as half of the amount of running I am supposed to do that day.  Not quite half.  Anyway – it’s all about motivation and I’m hoping this will finish off two back to back weekends of the longest training runs I have yet done.

My reasons for running Ralston Creek:

  • I like the half marathon distance very much
  • Supported training run
  • Pretty close (its been very nice not having the extra two hour commute to the front range I used to have)
  • New running location – I have NEVER been there
  • Good race to help maintain motivation and give a break in scenery.

Weather:  Checking the 10 day forecast, I get: 48 with overnight lows in the 30s.  Wow!  That would be perfect.  We’ll see…  (And yes, I realize this doesn’t really work out very well when I check a week in advance.  But, I like to think I know what’s coming.  Of course, the two day snow storm we just had wasn’t terribly well predicted until somewhat closer to the date and even then was a bit different than forecast.)

The race starts at 9:45 and there is no time change to worry about.  Nice!  Arvada, here I come!

About wfig

Longtime horsewoman and hiker, occasional world traveler and professional biologist.
This entry was posted in Races, Upcoming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Race Coming Up! Colorado (Ralston Creek Half Mararthon)

  1. Haha says:

    Ganbare! I hope the weather is good for you.

Leave a Reply

